The Ronald Hicks Memorial Award

The closing date for applications or submissions is Friday, 25 August 2017.

The Ronald Hicks Memorial Trust Fund was established in 1984 to recognise and commemorate the contribution that Ron Hicks made to water and wastewater management in New Zealand from the mid-1950s until his death in 1983. Ron joined the Auckland Metropolitan Drainage Board from the UK as Chief Chemist at the time when the Manukau Sewerage Purification Works was under development. He became widely respected as an international authority on domestic and industrial wastewater treatment practices, and it was through his efforts from 1957 to 1959 that the NZ Sewage and Industrial Wastes Association, the forerunner of Water New Zealand, was formed. Ron Hicks’ legacy is remembered annually through the Ronald Hicks Memorial Award made to the author(s) of an article or paper considered significant in solving or clarifying sewage treatment or water pollution problems in New Zealand.

The Trust Fund is administered by three trustees who together comprise the judging panel for the award. The current trustees are:

  • Mark Milke, Christchurch (Chairman)
  • Nick Dempsey, Auckland
  • Paul Barter, Nelson


Any queries regarding this Award should be made to the Chairman in the first instance. Applicants or submitters should include a copy of the article or paper, together with the name(s) and address(es) of the author(s) and a brief justification of the significance of the contents. Where the submission is by a third party, their name and address should also be provided.

Non-members of Water New Zealand are also eligible.

Applications or submissions for consideration should be addressed to the Chairman of the Memorial Trust:

Dr Mark Milke
Department of Civil & Natural Resources Engineering
University of Canterbury
Private Bag 4800
P: 03 364 2248

The closing date for applications or submissions is Friday, 25 August 2017.


Awards may take the form of cash, books, equipment, etc as seen appropriate to the Trustees in each case.

Water New Zealand acknowledges the services of the Trustees, namely Chairman Dr Mark Milke, from the Department of Civil and Natural Resources Engineering at the University of Canterbury, Nick Dempsey from Mott MacDonald in Auckland, and Paul Barter from the Cawthron Institute.

Award presented at the Downer Conference Dinner and Awards on Thursday, 21 September 2017.

The judges reserve the right to not offer the award depending on the quality of entries.  The judges’ decision will be final.