Keynote Speakers

Guest Speaker: Nigel Latta

Born and raised in Oamaru, Nigel first attended Otago University, where he completed an MSc in Marine Science. He then moved to Auckland where he trained as a Clinical Psychologist and graduated with a Master of philosophy with 1st class honours in Psychology and a Postgraduate Diploma in Clinical Psychology.

Nigel has worked for the last two decades in a number of agencies including Drug and Alcohol rehabilitation, Sex Offender Treatment Programmes, Family Therapy agencies, Child Youth and Family, Probation Services, and extensively in private practice.

He continues to work as a clinical psychologist in private practice consulting with organizations and agencies from throughout the country, and has lectured on a number of senior courses at the New Zealand Police College.

Bill Bayfield

Bill Bayfield joined Taumata Arowai in May 2020, following his time as Chief Executive at Environment Canterbury Regional Council (Ecan). He has an in-depth knowledge of drinking water and environmental regulation, and is an extremely experienced Chief Executive in both central and local government. Prior to Ecan, Bill was Chief Executive at the Bay of Plenty Regional Council between 2006-2011. From 2003-2006, he was General Manager, Sustainable Industry and Climate Change Group at the Ministry for the Environment, and before that held senior roles at Taranaki Regional Council.

His appointment as establishment Chief Executive of Taumata Arowai is on a fixed-term basis to December 2021. He will lead the establishment of Taumata Arowai and its first six months of ‘going live’ in 2021 as the new drinking water regulator. The Taumata Arowai Board will consider a permanent appointment for 2022 and beyond. An establishment Māori Advisory Group will provide guidance to the Establishment Board and Chief Executive on tikanga, mātauranga and Te Mana o Te Wai.

Bill’s appointment is a significant step in establishing this new Crown entity, so all New Zealand communities have access to safe drinking water.

Colin Crampton

Colin Crampton is the Chief Executive of Wellington Water.  Council-owned Wellington Water is responsible for delivering excellence in water services to the residents and communities of the metropolitan area of Wellington.

Colin is passionate about leadership and collaborating with other entities. And if there’s any free time he’ll be enjoying swimming or kayaking Te Whanganui-a-tara.

Raveen Jaduram

Raveen Jaduram has been chief executive of Watercare Services Limited since November 2014.  He has been the managing director and chief executive of Australian private water company Murrumbidgee Irrigation Limited.   He has held numerous senior executive roles within the water industry in New Zealand and is regarded as a global water leader.

In other service, Raveen is on the board of the New Zealand Infrastructure Commission – Te Waihanga.  He has been an independent director of Wellington Water, president and chairman of the Water and Wastes Association (now Water New Zealand), chairman of the Water Sector Senior Executives Forum, on the board of the Committee for Auckland, on the Steering Group of the Business Leaders’ Health & Safety Forum and chair of the Centre for Infrastructure Research, University of Auckland.

Raveen did post graduate studies in business at Stanford, Macquarie and Auckland Universities and has also attended INSEAD.


Henk Ovink

Special Envoy for International Water Affairs, Kingdom of The Netherlands

Sherpa to the UN / World Bank High-Level Panel on Water

Henk Ovink was appointed in 2015 by the Dutch Cabinet as the first Special Envoy for International Water Affairs. As the Ambassador for Water, he is responsible for advocating water awareness around the world, building institutional capacity and coalitions amongst governments, multilateral organisations, private sector and NGO’s, and initiating innovative approaches to address the world’s stressing needs on water. “Worldwide, water is the number one global risk, the connecting challenge across the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and our best opportunity for inclusive and comprehensive action!”

Henk Ovink served on President Obama’s Hurricane Sandy Rebuilding Task Force where he led the long term innovation, resilience and rebuilding efforts. He developed and led the ‘Rebuild by Design’ competition and initiated the National Disaster Resilience Competition. Before joining the Task Force Ovink was both Acting Director-General of Spatial Planning and Water Affairs and Director National Spatial Planning for the Netherlands.

Henk teaches at Harvard GSD, the London School of Economics and the University of Groningen.

His book – written together with Jelte Boeijenga – “Too Big. Rebuild by Design: A Transformative Approach to Climate Change” explores his climate and water work for the Obama Administration.

In January 2018 Henk Ovink was awarded for his ‘transformative global water work’ an honorary membership from the Royal Instítute of Engineers of the Netherlands.

Ailsa Sypkes

Ailsa Sypkes is a qualified lawyer and governance professional who has held senior roles in the energy, ports and water sectors over the last 15 years. As General Manager Governance and Assurance at TasWater, Tasmania’s water and sewerage services provider, Ailsa leads a team of nearly 80 people responsible for a range of support and assurance services.

Her responsibilities extend to legal services, risk management and compliance, company secretariat, information and knowledge management, internal audit, procurement (including accounts payable and stores), water quality, environmental performance and laboratory services. Ailsa is also TasWater’s Company Secretary.